Muzzleloading Forum
 
HomeGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Opinions on Custom Rifle

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 342
Age : 64
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 16th 2016, 3:31 pm

https://www.trackofthewolf.com/Categories/PartDetail.aspx/487/1/AAP-636

I dont know to much about custom builders but maybe some of you here do and can tell me what you think this rifle might be worth. I know TOW works at a pretty good margin and I was considering making them an offer as they have had this one for quite a while. Probably because its of that inadequate 50 caliber. Thanks Al

_________________
Have you ever just sat and thought man I've been through a lot of shit

TC Renegade 58 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
TC Renegade 58 cal
TC Hawken 58 cal
TC Hawken 50 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
GRRW Hawken 50 cal
Lyman GPR 54 cal flintlock L&R lock davis deerslayer trigger
Lyman Trade Rifle 54 cal
CVA Hawken 58 cal
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kentucky Colonel
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 1185
Age : 108
Location : Luna
Registration date : 2015-10-28

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 16th 2016, 4:01 pm

It is pretty. It has some nice parts. I would need a good reason to 
spend that much on it. Maybe you have one.

We are close to custom build territory with that price. With 2 years 
of patience and 3,500.00 you can start talking to Clay Smith about 
his builds. Of course, you can spend a lot more.

Does it 'speak' to you? That is the question.

_________________
"The supreme irony of life is that hardly anyone gets out of it alive." 
― Robert Heinlein


Florida Muzzleloaders Association 
Central Florida Muzzleloaders 
Green River Rifle Works Collectors Association
NMLRA
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 342
Age : 64
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 16th 2016, 4:22 pm

Colonel
My only reason is I want one nice longrifle. I have several Hawken style rifles and a hawken squirrel rifle on its way being built by John Bergmann of Tenn. I only have one flint and I would like another. I am considering offering them about 500 less than there asking price as the gun is on consignment. May be a lost cause but you dont know until you try. There is another on ALR thats nice to and considerably less I have thought about. Al

_________________
Have you ever just sat and thought man I've been through a lot of shit

TC Renegade 58 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
TC Renegade 58 cal
TC Hawken 58 cal
TC Hawken 50 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
GRRW Hawken 50 cal
Lyman GPR 54 cal flintlock L&R lock davis deerslayer trigger
Lyman Trade Rifle 54 cal
CVA Hawken 58 cal
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Admin
avatar

Male Number of posts : 14277
Age : 33
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 16th 2016, 5:11 pm

pretty simple carving IMO for the price. I just don't see it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
patocazador
Site
Site
avatar

Number of posts : 4959
Age : 74
Location : central Florida
Registration date : 2012-08-22

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 16th 2016, 5:39 pm

Keep an eye on the classifieds on all the forums. Some really nice rifles show up for a whole lot less.

There are some rifles in .45 and .40 plus a couple of smoothbores on another traditional site. A couple of them have swamped barrels.

_________________
Bob

"My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government." -Thomas Jefferson
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 342
Age : 64
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 16th 2016, 6:31 pm

@patocazador wrote:
Keep an eye on the classifieds on all the forums. Some really nice rifles show up for a whole lot less.

There are some rifles in .45 and .40 plus a couple of smoothbores on another traditional site. A couple of them have swamped barrels.
 I agree Bob theres one in 40 on ALR that is real nice for half of this one

_________________
Have you ever just sat and thought man I've been through a lot of shit

TC Renegade 58 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
TC Renegade 58 cal
TC Hawken 58 cal
TC Hawken 50 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
GRRW Hawken 50 cal
Lyman GPR 54 cal flintlock L&R lock davis deerslayer trigger
Lyman Trade Rifle 54 cal
CVA Hawken 58 cal
Back to top Go down
View user profile
lighthorseman

avatar

Male Number of posts : 713
Age : 63
Location : Harrison Idaho
Registration date : 2016-05-18

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 16th 2016, 8:12 pm

I agree that for the price I would expect better carving......I'd wait or look around some more. Send me a message about what you are looking for and I'll help you look.........if you want! t up

_________________
Doug
Christian Outdoor Leadership Training
Pathfinder Adventures


One page of history is worth more than a book of logic
Back to top Go down
View user profile
lighthorseman

avatar

Male Number of posts : 713
Age : 63
Location : Harrison Idaho
Registration date : 2016-05-18

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 16th 2016, 8:21 pm

Al

there is a beautiful rifle on CLA for $250 more ($3,250)
http://longrifle.com/images/showcase/23745_DSCF8810.JPG

http://longrifle.com/images/showcase/23745_DSCF8811.JPG

With intricate inlayed brass and extra fancy wood a rifle this one I would expect closer to the $5,000 range IMHO!

_________________
Doug
Christian Outdoor Leadership Training
Pathfinder Adventures


One page of history is worth more than a book of logic
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 342
Age : 64
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 16th 2016, 8:49 pm

Thanks Doug but the rifle you sent me is really nice and I am sure is worth the money I just dont think I want to spend that much for one. After thinking about what has been said here about the rifle at TOW I think I will pass on that offer. There is a rifle on ALR in 40 cal that has my interest at the moment and I might think about it. Im really not sure what I am looking for or I would let you be of assistance. Im just looking right now. Al

_________________
Have you ever just sat and thought man I've been through a lot of shit

TC Renegade 58 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
TC Renegade 58 cal
TC Hawken 58 cal
TC Hawken 50 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
GRRW Hawken 50 cal
Lyman GPR 54 cal flintlock L&R lock davis deerslayer trigger
Lyman Trade Rifle 54 cal
CVA Hawken 58 cal
Back to top Go down
View user profile
lighthorseman

avatar

Male Number of posts : 713
Age : 63
Location : Harrison Idaho
Registration date : 2016-05-18

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 16th 2016, 8:56 pm


_________________
Doug
Christian Outdoor Leadership Training
Pathfinder Adventures


One page of history is worth more than a book of logic
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 342
Age : 64
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 17th 2016, 7:04 am

Thanks Doug
I did see the rifles at Clay Smith. I do like the TVM rifles. The gun works had a 50 cal Leman by them for sale that I liked also. The TVM you sent I looked at quite a bit. Al

_________________
Have you ever just sat and thought man I've been through a lot of shit

TC Renegade 58 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
TC Renegade 58 cal
TC Hawken 58 cal
TC Hawken 50 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
GRRW Hawken 50 cal
Lyman GPR 54 cal flintlock L&R lock davis deerslayer trigger
Lyman Trade Rifle 54 cal
CVA Hawken 58 cal
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RonC
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 718
Age : 70
Location : Golden, CO
Registration date : 2013-09-09

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 17th 2016, 9:06 am

Maybe I am unrealistic, but a $3000 price sticker on a muzzleloader frightens me away.
Yes, I have seen the rifles on ALR listed for $7000 or more, but I am forced to pass those by.
My eyes do widen when I see a nice one for $1400 or so. That's talking my economic language.
Ron

_________________
RonC
Back to top Go down
View user profile
OSR



Male Number of posts : 97
Age : 67
Location : Free Part of NY, NY
Registration date : 2014-01-23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 17th 2016, 10:01 am

@BigAl52 wrote:
Colonel
My only reason is I want one nice longrifle. I have several Hawken style rifles and a hawken squirrel rifle on its way being built by John Bergmann of Tenn. I only have one flint and I would like another. I am considering offering them about 500 less than there asking price as the gun is on consignment. May be a lost cause but you dont know until you try. There is another on ALR thats nice to and considerably less I have thought about. Al
Can't hurt, they can only say no.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
lighthorseman

avatar

Male Number of posts : 713
Age : 63
Location : Harrison Idaho
Registration date : 2016-05-18

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 17th 2016, 4:58 pm

Price all depends on priorities. I notice that some guys have several production rifles in their collections.....added together they might cost the same as one really nice period fancy flintlock or cap gun. I could own more guns, but I can only shoot one at a time. When I used to teach the muzzleloading section of hunter's ed in Colorado, I used to ask what the ultimate desire was for a gun of a newly introduced hunter to muzzleloading. If they had interest in history and hunting, then I would direct them to the guns that fit that era. If hunting only, then I'd direct them to cheaper mass produced cap guns. Most of the time the historian shoots a lot more than the big game hunter who usually hauls out his modern muzzleloader and runs a few rounds just before hunting season. Now by those sharing their recent targets, there's lot of guys here who, though own modern muzzleloaders, they obviously shoot a lot and are greatly concerned with accuracy. I own a couple of nice custom muzzleloaders that I had to sell a few guns to be able to afford.........My personal priority is for traditional hunting with authentic period pieces. No superiority in that, just a different philosophy. I once had a buddy tell me it was better to have one gun that you shot a lot and knew it well than to have several that you only shot occasionally and couldn't hit the broadside of a barn........part of the reason that I finally arrived at a "smooth rifle" which allows me to hunt anything in North American from small game/upland game waterfowl to big game up to and including moose. t up

_________________
Doug
Christian Outdoor Leadership Training
Pathfinder Adventures


One page of history is worth more than a book of logic
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sharpsman

avatar

Male Number of posts : 439
Age : 77
Location : Clear Lake, Louisiana
Registration date : 2016-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 18th 2016, 2:52 pm

I like 'set' triggers!

Can't see it for that price! Evil or Very Mad affraid
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Hanshi



Number of posts : 70
Age : 70
Location : Va
Registration date : 2015-01-21

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 18th 2016, 2:53 pm

A rifle as nice as that one can be had for close to half the price they're asking.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.martialartsusa.com
Sharpsman

avatar

Male Number of posts : 439
Age : 77
Location : Clear Lake, Louisiana
Registration date : 2016-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   July 18th 2016, 3:01 pm

TOW offered me HALF PRICE for two very clean Shiloh Sharps rifles I have equipped with $700.00 sights! I laughed!!

I guess they figured I needed to sell....and was senile at that!! lol! :wow
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Custom Rifle   

Back to top Go down
 
Opinions on Custom Rifle
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Frontier Muzzleloading :: Muzzleloading Topic :: Traditional Muzzleloading-
Jump to: