Muzzleloading Forum
 
HomeGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 25-06 your opinions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
leserz

avatar

Male Number of posts : 105
Age : 71
Location : hot springs arkansas
Registration date : 2011-03-17

PostSubject: 25-06 your opinions   June 24th 2011, 10:59 pm

im pretty sure im getting a H&R 25-06 that should reach out there. whats your opinion using it for elk ? don't know if i would hunt elk but never know. with say 117 gr bullets what ranges would you shoot ? is the 25-06 a good all around calaber for that area the Ratan NM area.

_________________
.50 cva stainless accura, redfield scope
.50 cva bobcat
Back to top Go down
View user profile
black powder

avatar

Male Number of posts : 162
Age : 73
Location : north america
Registration date : 2011-05-20

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 25th 2011, 6:09 am

since you asked i'll give you my thoughts ..the 25-06 is ok if YOU reload ,i don't care very much for odd ball calibers .as you probably know the 25-06 is actualy a reduced necked 30-06 .... [like to keep things simple and uncomplicated] for elk i would chose the .270 cal. with the WINCHESTER 150 grain. XP3 .....or upgrade to the .270 wsm with the WINCHESTER 130 grain. XP3 ...it will take care of anything that you want to hunt ,up close or far away [200 to 300yds. if you do your part]
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Marty
Site Moderator &
Site Moderator &
avatar

Male Number of posts : 3190
Age : 61
Location : Massachusetts
Registration date : 2009-02-03

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 25th 2011, 6:36 am

Never hunted elk, but know the .25-06. It wouldn't be my first choice. I'd want a bigger bullet and caliber.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9511
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 25th 2011, 8:00 am

Kind of light for elk.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
black powder

avatar

Male Number of posts : 162
Age : 73
Location : north america
Registration date : 2011-05-20

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 25th 2011, 9:04 am

Colorado wrote:
Kind of light for elk.


not if he gets a good bonded bullet [XP3] SUPREME WINCHESTER .. also shot placement is very important [no shoulder shots ] but a double lung shot will put it down in its tracks ..

i hunted 25 years with a 30-06 and don't recall of any game [moose , blackbear, caribou that walked very far with the proper bullet and shot placement ..
Back to top Go down
View user profile
chaded



Male Number of posts : 1194
Age : 30
Location : ohio
Registration date : 2011-05-08

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 25th 2011, 9:50 am

the 25-06 and the 30-06 can be in two very different worlds. With the right load combination the 30-06 can bring just about any game down very effectively. I personally wouldn't take a 25-06 for anything above a elk and even then it would have to be a heavier solid bullet.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
sqezer



Male Number of posts : 1743
Age : 64
Location : Portage, Wi
Registration date : 2009-11-06

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 25th 2011, 10:01 am

117 gr. Nosler Partition, but always under 150 yds. when it comes to Elk. If you reload that is the way I would go. We have 4 of them longest shot 317 yds. he was head before he hit the ground, 117 gr.Nosler Partition. rendeer

_________________
.45 Knight Original 1-20 Laminated Thumb Hole
.45 Knight Disc SS, Composite Stock
.45 Knight Disc Extreme MHC Laminated Thumb Hole
.45 Knight Disc Extreme MHSDE SS composit stock
.50 Knight Mountaineer Laminated stock
.50 Knight Disc Elite
.50 Knight Disc Extreme X 3
.50 Knight Long Range Hunter
.52 Knight Disc Extreme Winter Camo stock
.45 CVA Apex & 7mm-08
.50 CVA APEX
.45 CVA MagHunter X 5
.50 CVA Buckhorn Mag X 4
.50 CVA Wolf Shorty
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sqezer@yahoo.com
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9511
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 25th 2011, 2:07 pm

@black powder wrote:
Colorado wrote:
Kind of light for elk.


not if he gets a good bonded bullet [XP3] SUPREME WINCHESTER .. also shot placement is very important [no shoulder shots ] but a double lung shot will put it down in its tracks ..

i hunted 25 years with a 30-06 and don't recall of any game [moose , blackbear, caribou that walked very far with the proper bullet and shot placement ..

True, but I always like a little extra insurance. A bullet that only works with a perfect shot is chancy. I'm a bit conservative on bullet choice.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
black powder

avatar

Male Number of posts : 162
Age : 73
Location : north america
Registration date : 2011-05-20

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 25th 2011, 4:16 pm

bigger is not always better ...i just sold my BROWNING STAINLESS STALKER A-BOLT in 300 wsm ..it has served me well the last 10 years ..i ordered a SAVAGE WEATHERWARRIOR in .243 cal ..it will be used for big game hunting without the painfull RECOIL . i retired 8 years ago and my main hobby is big game hunting ,so i have a good idea what i want for my future hunts ..i booked a whitetail deer hunt on ANTICOSTI ISLAND from the 24 oct. - 31 oct ..we are allowed 2 deer ..

and yes getting back to the main question 25-06 is good enough for elk ..but if you are not comfortable get some thing with more power ..like a 30-06
Back to top Go down
View user profile
sqezer



Male Number of posts : 1743
Age : 64
Location : Portage, Wi
Registration date : 2009-11-06

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 25th 2011, 10:06 pm

black powder, I do agree the 30-06 has much more to pick from, all the ways up to 220 grs. of teeth ratteling power. bom

_________________
.45 Knight Original 1-20 Laminated Thumb Hole
.45 Knight Disc SS, Composite Stock
.45 Knight Disc Extreme MHC Laminated Thumb Hole
.45 Knight Disc Extreme MHSDE SS composit stock
.50 Knight Mountaineer Laminated stock
.50 Knight Disc Elite
.50 Knight Disc Extreme X 3
.50 Knight Long Range Hunter
.52 Knight Disc Extreme Winter Camo stock
.45 CVA Apex & 7mm-08
.50 CVA APEX
.45 CVA MagHunter X 5
.50 CVA Buckhorn Mag X 4
.50 CVA Wolf Shorty
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sqezer@yahoo.com
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9511
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 26th 2011, 8:01 am

@sqezer wrote:
black powder, I do agree the 30-06 has much more to pick from, all the ways up to 220 grs. of teeth ratteling power. bom

The 30-06 was always my choice. Plus, I loved the 30-30 lever for the tight stuff. My dad bought me one when I was 12 for deer hunting. I haven't stopped hunting ever since.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
sqezer



Male Number of posts : 1743
Age : 64
Location : Portage, Wi
Registration date : 2009-11-06

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 26th 2011, 9:42 am

The love of the 06 goes way back, for our first annivarsary presant in 1977, the WIFE bought me a Winchester model 670 30-06 with a Maple Monte Carlo stock with a stripping pattern to it. I can't say how many deer I have taken with it at least 100 or more, when it came to taking doe's for meat any thing under 200 yds. it was my head shot special. Then I was interduced to the 25-06, the 30-06 is retired for one of my grandsons, after all these years of hunting with it it is still about 95% conditition, now its the .45 Knights forever. Very Happy

_________________
.45 Knight Original 1-20 Laminated Thumb Hole
.45 Knight Disc SS, Composite Stock
.45 Knight Disc Extreme MHC Laminated Thumb Hole
.45 Knight Disc Extreme MHSDE SS composit stock
.50 Knight Mountaineer Laminated stock
.50 Knight Disc Elite
.50 Knight Disc Extreme X 3
.50 Knight Long Range Hunter
.52 Knight Disc Extreme Winter Camo stock
.45 CVA Apex & 7mm-08
.50 CVA APEX
.45 CVA MagHunter X 5
.50 CVA Buckhorn Mag X 4
.50 CVA Wolf Shorty
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sqezer@yahoo.com
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9511
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 26th 2011, 10:33 am

The rest of my days will be with a ML. I like smacking them with a big slow bullet.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
leserz

avatar

Male Number of posts : 105
Age : 71
Location : hot springs arkansas
Registration date : 2011-03-17

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   June 29th 2011, 1:17 pm

my chance of hunting anything larger than a coyote with a 25-06 is pretty iffy . darn heart and lungs don't want to work together . so i may end up hunting just paper targets. or turkey

_________________
.50 cva stainless accura, redfield scope
.50 cva bobcat
Back to top Go down
View user profile
maconcountyboy



Number of posts : 58
Age : 45
Location : st. joe mo.
Registration date : 2012-11-24

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   November 24th 2012, 7:46 am

if u use a 25-06 you wanna run some 110 gr. accubonds theyll work great for elk
Back to top Go down
View user profile
patocazador
Site
Site
avatar

Number of posts : 4968
Age : 74
Location : central Florida
Registration date : 2012-08-22

PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   November 24th 2012, 11:56 am

Also 100 grain Nosler Partitions for hunting. Those Partitions have never failed me.
They are all I shoot in my .257 Roberts Imp., .250 Savage handgun, and .25-06.

_________________
Bob

"My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government." -Thomas Jefferson
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: 25-06 your opinions   

Back to top Go down
 
25-06 your opinions
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Frontier Muzzleloading :: Modern Shooting :: Modern Shooters-
Jump to: