Muzzleloading Forum
 
HomeGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Smokin' Joe
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 1592
Age : 67
Location : Elk River, MN
Registration date : 2011-11-23

PostSubject: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 8:30 am

I'm thinking about buying a percussion traditional. My brother has the T/C Hawken so I would like to get something different, at least for my first one. Has anyone had any experience with a Lyman Great Plains or Trade rifles. I know Mulely has T/C renegades and now a New Englander. I just need a starting point. I know "nothing" about them but they look like they will be fun to shoot.

Thanks,

Joe

_________________
Joe

“If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.”   Will Rogers

Semper Fi……..
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9511
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 9:22 am

I've had 3 Lyman Great Plains Rifles. Great guns, and much closer to a real Hawken than the TC versions. It is a bit heavy with the 32" barrel, and you need to get used to the curved butt plate. You don't shoulder it like a gun with a flat butt plate. It's very accurate.

The Great Plains Rifle has a 1-60 twist, and it for a round ball. It's too slow of a twist to shoot conicals well.

The Great Plains Hunter is exactly the same gun, but it has a 1-32 twist, and is made to shoot conicals.


So, decide what bullets you plan to shoot, and pick the version made for them.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9511
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 9:27 am

I forgot. You asked about the Trade gun too. It's a compromise, and similar to the TC guns. It has a 1-48 twist, and will shoot a round ball and a conical pretty good. It's lighter with a shorter barrel, and it has a more friendly butt plate.

It very similar to the Hawken that Cabelas sells. Same gun made by the same company, but Cabelas has some addons like a parch box, and a 1" longer barrel. Plus some brass hardware. I like the Lyman version better, and it's cheaper than the Cabelas. Unless you catch the Cabelas on sale.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5321
Age : 51
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 9:29 am

Easy way out will be to buy all three .....
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Smokin' Joe
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 1592
Age : 67
Location : Elk River, MN
Registration date : 2011-11-23

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 9:57 am

Thanks Muley! Thank you too Spitfire....I think. Smile

_________________
Joe

“If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.”   Will Rogers

Semper Fi……..
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5321
Age : 51
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 10:35 am

If you're like me you will buy all 3 the guns.... Laughing Just love old guns , can't keep my hands off them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Caplock



Male Number of posts : 209
Age : 60
Location : Maryland
Registration date : 2012-07-17

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 10:44 am

I feel I must suggest you look at a Traditions Deerhunter. They are good shooters, have adjustable single triggers, and are drilled and tapped for a scope. The open sights on them are cheap but you can replace them. You might even decide to remove them for closer mounting of the scope to the barrel. Just get some sight screw hole plug screws from Traditions when you order the gun. They are not fancy rifles but I love them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5321
Age : 51
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 10:49 am

That crappy sights seem to be a problem with almost all off these repro guns , i'm buzy fitting a set of 1863 Enfield sights to my 1:48 Hawken .
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 14334
Age : 33
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 11:16 am

54CAL Great Plains Rifle in percussion!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5321
Age : 51
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 11:51 am

Better yet find one in flint .... Then you don't have to worry about caps !
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9511
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 11th 2012, 12:33 pm

@Spitfire wrote:
Better yet find one in flint .... Then you don't have to worry about caps !

Good grief! Why do you think they converted flints to caplock in the old days?

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5321
Age : 51
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 12th 2012, 8:57 am

So that we can buy the caps that they invented... Laughing Nothing like lighting off a flinty and hitting the target !
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9511
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 12th 2012, 9:08 am

Nothing like a flash in the pan, or the built in delay that flints have too.

I won't even mention rain, or worn flints that you thought would work one more time. clown

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5321
Age : 51
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 12th 2012, 9:52 am

Yeah ! But ain't it all part of the fun ....?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9511
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 12th 2012, 10:03 am

At the range yes. Not so much when you miss a critter.

I remember once I worked my but off to get close to a nice muley. Lined it up, and squeezed the trigger...click! I look in the pan, and it was empty. All the prime had leaked out.


Percussion caps can't leak out. clown



Before you say it. I keep a small piece of leather between the cap and hammer while hunting. When I cock the hammer the leather slips off, and it's tied to the trigger guard. Fool proof system so far.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5321
Age : 51
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   December 12th 2012, 10:18 am

Hav'nt tried hunting with my flinty yet , like you say the caps are much more convenient. I normally carry my gun with an empty nipple capping when i see an animal worth shooting.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader   

Back to top Go down
 
Looking for an opinion on a traditional percussion muzzleloader
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Frontier Muzzleloading :: Muzzleloading Topic :: Traditional Muzzleloading-
Jump to: