Kentucky Long Rifle Questions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
jra3434

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2015-03-05

PostSubject: Kentucky Long Rifle Questions   March 5th 2015, 12:23 pm

Hello Everyone,

I'm brand new to Muzzleloading and for my birthday my wife bought me a Kentucky Long Rifle made by Pedersoli. BEAUTIFUL firearm and it really satisfies my desire to own a traditional rifle and will serve my desire to hunt deer in a traditional method as well (percussion, .50, octagon barrel). I'm not much for plugging a buck at 350 yards with a .300...not much sport in that for me. 

So as I am definitely new to the game, I had some general questions about best powders to use with this particular long barreled rifle, sighting in the iron sight mechanism, balls versus bullets and cleaning/maintenance (particularly maintaining the nipple and firing mechanism). Basically, anyone who owns this type of rifle or something similar would you be willing to give me some advice on what has worked best for you? Things to look out for, consider and best practices?

Lastly, should I consider pellets over loose powder? Every type of powder imaginable is available here in Texas.
Thank you all!

Joe A. :Grace:Grace:Grace:Grace
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FiremanBrad

Number of posts : 67
Registration date : 2014-12-12

PostSubject: Re: Kentucky Long Rifle Questions   March 5th 2015, 12:45 pm

You'll want to use granulated powder, not pellets. I prefer real black powder. 
What twist rate is your barrel? This will help determine what projectile to use. If it's a slow twist like 1:60/1:66, a patched round ball will be hard to beat. My Pedersoli Rifle has a 1:45 or 48? And it shoots PRB or conicals equally well.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site

Male Number of posts : 9511
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Kentucky Long Rifle Questions   March 5th 2015, 12:48 pm