Muzzleloading Forum
 
HomeGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Opinions wanted on a Flintlock

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 373
Age : 65
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 9th 2016, 7:24 pm

Im looking at this flintlock rifle for sale on american longrifles. Its a 50 cal full stock hawken. Is there anything that any of you long time flint shooters can see with this rifle that it wouldnt make a guy a good rifle. The price on it is reasonable and I really like the looks of it. Thanks for your opinions Al                   http://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=39254.0
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9492
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 7:43 am

HELL YES BUY IT! 

It's a beautiful gun and very authentic. Don't hesitate and lose it to another buyer. I'd give my left nut for it.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Standing Bear

avatar

Male Number of posts : 233
Age : 69
Location : Texas Hill Country
Registration date : 2014-01-30

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 8:06 am

Good quality parts and fit/finish looks well done. POI is easily adjusted and a tighter ball/patch combo will tighten the group. If within your budget and the pull/drop and caliber are right for you go for it. Everyone should have at least ONE flinter of their dreams.
TC
Back to top Go down
View user profile
patocazador
Site
Site
avatar

Number of posts : 5094
Age : 74
Location : central Florida
Registration date : 2012-08-22

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 11:07 am

Nice looking gun. If you can afford it, buy it.

The only thing that would scare me is the weight. I'm puny.

_________________
Bob

"My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government." -Thomas Jefferson
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RonC
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 779
Age : 70
Location : Golden, CO
Registration date : 2013-09-09

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 12:10 pm

It is a beautiful rifle, Al!

It is full of premier components. If the LOP fits you, I suggest buying it.

Of course you get into the interminable debate about whether a flintlock, full stock rifle was ever built by Hawken. I can show you photos of full stock Hawken and Gemmer percussion rifles at the Cody Museum, but I couldn't find flintlock versions.

I would definitely consider buying it.
Ron

_________________
RonC
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 373
Age : 65
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 1:16 pm

Well Im not politically correct either and Im not going to let that make my decision on whether I bought a rifle I liked or not. I like this one because the barrel comes out of the stock with wedgies rather than pins. So if it means whether I can shoot or not with the authentic boys, I can just set up way down at the end of the line where I wont interfere with the authentic part of the shoot. I can shoot with the kids. Very Happy Al


Last edited by BigAl52 on March 10th 2016, 1:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9492
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 1:26 pm

@RonC wrote:
It is a beautiful rifle, Al!

It is full of premier components. If the LOP fits you, I suggest buying it.

Of course you get into the interminable debate about whether a flintlock, full stock rifle was ever built by Hawken. I can show you photos of full stock Hawken and Gemmer percussion rifles at the Cody Museum, but I couldn't find flintlock versions.

I would definitely consider buying it.
Ron

You sure about that? I researched it quite a bit once and asked on a lot of traditional forums if there ever was a flintlock halfstock Hawken. Nobody had ever saw one. What was found out is caplocks started with the halfstock Hawken. Which means all the full stock Hawken rifles were flintlocks. Any fullstock caplock Hawken rifles found have been converted from flintlocks. Which was quite common back then.

I'm only talking about Hawken rifles. Not any other plains type rifle.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9492
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 1:36 pm








_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RonC
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 779
Age : 70
Location : Golden, CO
Registration date : 2013-09-09

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 1:41 pm

There are many reasons and justifications about why full stock, flintlock Hawken family rifles should certainly have been built, sold and used. But no one can come up with one.

There are several full stock percussion Hawken, Gemmer and family rifles at the Cody Museum, but not a single flint lock.

The discussion goes on and on on another site, even recently, but where are the rifles or even photos of the full stock flint locks?



Ron

_________________
RonC
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RonC
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 779
Age : 70
Location : Golden, CO
Registration date : 2013-09-09

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 1:42 pm

Now, THAT flint lock is really cool, Muley!
I am pleased to be proved wrong.
Ron

_________________
RonC
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9492
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 1:44 pm

.....

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 373
Age : 65
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 1:50 pm

I would like to ask about this guys proof loads. Im not real educated on his proofing. So what does he mean by  The rifle was proofed with 210 gr 3F, a .490 ball with a .015 ox-yoke patch. It was fired three times to establish POA, and then 5 shots were fired to prove group with 70 gr 3F , .015 patch and a .490 ball.  I know what the group firing is but Im wondering about the first part of his comment. I guess I don't understand the 210gr part.  Is the only way to adjust POI by movng the front sight or can one adjust by load also. Thanks Al
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9492
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 2:13 pm

The 210gr loads were test loads to check the barrels strength. It's not done for you to copy.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9492
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 2:17 pm

@RonC wrote:
Now, THAT flint lock is really cool, Muley!
I am pleased to be proved wrong.
Ron

 Just did more research, and we're both right. I may be right that the early fullstock rifles were flintlocks. The halfstock started with caplocks. I assumed when they started to make the half stock they quit making the full stock. That's not true. They continued to make fullstock guns right up to the end. Here's a fullstock Hawken made in 1850.


_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 373
Age : 65
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 2:19 pm

Ok thanks Muley I guess I didn't think of that. The proofed thing went right over the top of me little brain. Al

_________________
Have you ever just sat and thought man I've been through a lot of shit

TC Renegade 58 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
TC Renegade 58 cal
TC Hawken 58 cal
TC Hawken 50 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
GRRW Hawken 50 cal
Lyman GPR 54 cal flintlock L&R lock davis deerslayer trigger
Lyman Trade Rifle 54 cal
CVA Hawken 58 cal
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Smokin' Joe
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 1643
Age : 67
Location : Elk River, MN
Registration date : 2011-11-23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 10th 2016, 5:08 pm

The rifle was proofed with 210 gr 3F which is about 3 times what you would be normally shooting.  BigAl52 that Hawken looks like a very nice rifle which would be fun to shoot and proud to own.  Remember, he who snoozes....looses.

I missed out on a flintlock myself on Gunbroker.  I hesitated from jumping on it and now someone else now has a very nice rifle.  They called it a Jaeger but it looked more like a English Sporting rifle which is more what I'm looking for.

_________________
Joe

So you want to be a gun maker....do you like filing?  >:^)

Semper Fi……..
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sharpsman

avatar

Male Number of posts : 473
Age : 77
Location : Clear Lake, Louisiana
Registration date : 2016-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 13th 2016, 11:31 am

Me thinks you need to buy that rifle........NOW!! bounce bounce cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RIFLE 57

avatar

Male Number of posts : 21
Age : 60
Location : Greeley Co
Registration date : 2016-01-20

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 13th 2016, 2:33 pm

Come on Al stop hanging on to that moldy money a buy that damn rifle!!
   Loren
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 373
Age : 65
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 13th 2016, 8:01 pm

I appreciate all the opinions on the flintlock. I decided to pass on it and chose to buy the GRRW from track. I have wanted one of the GRRW rifles since I have been looking at them. I think this will be a neat rifle to have. Al

Back to top Go down
View user profile
RonC
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 779
Age : 70
Location : Golden, CO
Registration date : 2013-09-09

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 13th 2016, 8:10 pm

I can't tell you how many times I looked at that rifle on TOTW.
But, I have one that is somewhat similar and couldn't justify the purchase.
I'm glad it is going to a good home.
Have Fun,
Ron

_________________
RonC
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sharpsman

avatar

Male Number of posts : 473
Age : 77
Location : Clear Lake, Louisiana
Registration date : 2016-02-13

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 13th 2016, 9:12 pm

@BigAl52 wrote:
I appreciate all the opinions on the flintlock. I decided to pass on it and chose to buy the GRRW from track. I have wanted one of the GRRW rifles since I have been looking at them. I think this will be a neat rifle to have. Al

Let me know if they have a 'lefty' show up in .54! I'll get another. Beats putting $$$$ in a bank!! Is this rifle a .54??
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 373
Age : 65
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 13th 2016, 9:26 pm

No its not a 54 its a 50. But thats okay I have some 54's and 58's now. I also have another 50 its a green mountain barrel drop in on a Renegade. I have one in a 58 also green mountain drop in on a renegade. The green mountain barrels shoot very good Al
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bear Claw
Site
Site
avatar

Male Number of posts : 9492
Age : 74
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 14th 2016, 6:21 am

I thought you wanted a flintlock?

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
BigAl52
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 373
Age : 65
Location : Evans, Colorado
Registration date : 2016-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 14th 2016, 7:08 am

I did Muley but this one came along and I have wanted a GRRW for a while so I decided to wait on this flinter anyway. I do have one flint I really liked the one here I asked about because of it being a Hawken. I was torn with my decision and decided to get the GRRW. Al

_________________
Have you ever just sat and thought man I've been through a lot of shit

TC Renegade 58 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
TC Renegade 58 cal
TC Hawken 58 cal
TC Hawken 50 cal Green Mtn drop in barrel
GRRW Hawken 50 cal
Lyman GPR 54 cal flintlock L&R lock davis deerslayer trigger
Lyman Trade Rifle 54 cal
CVA Hawken 58 cal
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Smokin' Joe
FML's
FML's
avatar

Male Number of posts : 1643
Age : 67
Location : Elk River, MN
Registration date : 2011-11-23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   March 14th 2016, 7:09 am

You'll be happy with that rifle.  It's always fun when a muzzleloader is on it's way to your house.  When you get her sighted in I hope you'll share your targets with us.  Love to see how she performs at the range.

_________________
Joe

So you want to be a gun maker....do you like filing?  >:^)

Semper Fi……..
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinions wanted on a Flintlock   

Back to top Go down
 
Opinions wanted on a Flintlock
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Frontier Muzzleloading :: Muzzleloading Topic :: Traditional Muzzleloading-
Jump to: