Muzzleloading Forum
 
HomeGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in



Ads


Share | 
 

 Need some opinions on an inlay.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
RhinoDave

avatar

Male Number of posts : 101
Age : 70
Location : Michigan
Registration date : 2017-01-25

PostSubject: Need some opinions on an inlay.   February 8th 2018, 9:08 am

I'm currently working on a refinish rifle and trying to come up with a few designs. I have an eagle pattern that I think will look good on the cheek but would like other opinions. This would be a combination of brass and silver wire." />

_________________
Built for comfort.......not speed!


Last edited by RhinoDave on February 8th 2018, 9:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
patocazador

avatar

Number of posts : 5835
Age : 75
Location : central Florida
Registration date : 2012-08-22

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on an inlay.   February 8th 2018, 9:19 am

With your skill I'll bet it will look great.

_________________
Bob

"My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government." -Thomas Jefferson
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kentucky Colonel
Site Moderator &
Site Moderator &
avatar

Male Number of posts : 1617
Age : 109
Location : Luna
Registration date : 2015-10-28

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on an inlay.   February 8th 2018, 11:32 pm

(Chuckle) Wow. You are asking us?

Rhino, your earlier posted work made it clear that you have vision of your finished product that goes beyond your early drawings. I say trust yourself.

_________________
"One of the sanest, surest, and most generous joys of life comes from being happy 
over the good fortune of others." 
― Robert Heinlein


Florida Muzzleloaders Association 
Central Florida Muzzleloaders 
Green River Rifle Works Collectors Association
NMLRA
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Marty
Site Moderator &
Site Moderator &
avatar

Male Number of posts : 3432
Age : 62
Location : Massachusetts
Registration date : 2009-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on an inlay.   February 9th 2018, 6:32 am

RhinoDave, is this refinish rifle for you or someone else?

As a hunter, I prefer a symbol/figure other than government/militant.  I guess it depends on what the owner wants.  I'm sure the eagle would come out beautiful with your craftsmanship.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RhinoDave

avatar

Male Number of posts : 101
Age : 70
Location : Michigan
Registration date : 2017-01-25

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on an inlay.   February 9th 2018, 9:47 am

All of the rifles I've posted are for me only. I'm not a seller at all. All of these will eventually go to my son or son-in-law. This current one is a Traditions Pennsylvania that has seen better days. I know what you mean about the militant style. I think what is bothering me most about the design is the slogan. I would like to eliminate the death part. I'm all for Patriotic designs without the militant parts. Anyone have any good short slogans I could put on the banner?

_________________
Built for comfort.......not speed!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
patocazador

avatar

Number of posts : 5835
Age : 75
Location : central Florida
Registration date : 2012-08-22

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on an inlay.   February 9th 2018, 10:33 am

Patrick Henry said it for a reason .. a damned good reason. I say leave it as is. Just because some over-the-top people misuse a phrase doesn't mean the original intent is flawed.

It's as valid today as it was in 1775.  :suhlute

_________________
Bob

"My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government." -Thomas Jefferson
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Marty
Site Moderator &
Site Moderator &
avatar

Male Number of posts : 3432
Age : 62
Location : Massachusetts
Registration date : 2009-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on an inlay.   February 9th 2018, 11:44 am

Point well taken RhinoDave on the slogan.  I think the "message" portrayed by our National Bald Eagle alone would speak for itself without any slogan at all.  Let the viewer create their own Patriotic message.

Best of luck in deciding before you take-on such a dedicated project. :rtup
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kentucky Colonel
Site Moderator &
Site Moderator &
avatar

Male Number of posts : 1617
Age : 109
Location : Luna
Registration date : 2015-10-28

PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on an inlay.   February 10th 2018, 10:50 am

I think both Bob AND Marty are correct. It had not occurred to me at first. It depends on where you see this rifle landing. 

I know a lot of people are so upset at the toxic nature of all things political right now that they will actively avoid anything that looks like it is heading in that direction. They do not wish to be associated with anything that smacks of some of these modern groups. There are also some that would gravitate toward it for the opposite reason. 

But, if you are selling it, I would go with just the eagle. Never reduce the numbers of people who would be interested in buying your stuff. The more potential buyers, the better for you. If you wish to engage in the modern political brawls, buy a bumper sticker. Its cheaper.

It will be beautiful either way. Decide what serves your use better and go for it.

_________________
"One of the sanest, surest, and most generous joys of life comes from being happy 
over the good fortune of others." 
― Robert Heinlein


Florida Muzzleloaders Association 
Central Florida Muzzleloaders 
Green River Rifle Works Collectors Association
NMLRA
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Need some opinions on an inlay.   

Back to top Go down
 
Need some opinions on an inlay.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Frontier Muzzleloading :: Muzzleloading Topic :: Traditional Muzzleloading-
Jump to: