Frontier Muzzleloading
Welcome to Frontier Muzzleloading!

Please take the time to either Register or Log In to your user name and join us!

Muzzleloading Forum

HomeFAQRegisterLog in

Herb Knife and other Musings

Go down 
AuthorMessage
heelerau

heelerau

Male Number of posts : 173
Registration date : 2018-02-08

Herb Knife and other Musings Empty
PostSubject: Herb Knife and other Musings   Herb Knife and other Musings EmptyNovember 20th 2018, 2:06 pm

Herb Knife and other Musings <a href=P1030106 2 by Gordon Hazel, on Flickr" />
Herb Knife and other Musings <a href=Herb Knife and other Musings 44159589060_5541680207_nP1030101 by Gordon Hazel, on Flickr" />
Gents, my mate Gary who is both a farrier and blacksmith of many years ( second generation blacksmith) dropped over and we spent a few hours over a couple of days in my smithy. I made my second herb knife out of a small file, with Gary giving me a few of the finer points of smithing. I am largely self taught so getting a tune up saves me reinventing the wheel as they say.  Handle is a bit of apricot branch and the cross pin is a piece of no 8 soft fencing wire. Blade was hardened in canola oil.  
      Just yesterday dropped into a place owed by a chap who haunts farm clearing sales and buys and sells old mac
hinery and tools. I picked up the remains of a Buffalo post drill mod 611, it had still had the auto metic feed which I have now fitted to my own Buffalo mo 615. It works a treat and they are like rocking horse poop to find, have been looking for years. I did have to pay for it though, but there you are. Herb Knife and other Musings <a href=Herb Knife and other Musings 45926473982_7346487aed_nHerb Knife and other Musings <a href=Herb Knife and other Musings 45926488372_994ea8cf1f_nP1030106 2 by Gordon Hazel, on Flickr" />
P1030105 by Gordon Hazel, on Flickr" />

RhinoDave

Male Number of posts : 125
Registration date : 2017-01-25