Frontier Muzzleloading
Welcome to Frontier Muzzleloading!

Please take the time to either Register or Log In to your user name and join us!

Muzzleloading Forum

HomeFAQRegisterLog in

CVA Hawkins Build. hammer problems

Go down 
AuthorMessage
ash1055

Male Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2019-02-13

CVA Hawkins Build. hammer problems Empty
PostSubject: CVA Hawkins Build. hammer problems   CVA Hawkins Build. hammer problems EmptyFebruary 13th 2019, 4:02 pm

Hello Everyone,

I am an absolute newbie here and with muzzle loading. I put together a CVA Hawkins .50 cal kit. It all came together nicely with the exception of the hammer. it will not fall to the nipple. It's stops at half cock. when I remove the hammer from the rifle and examine the mechanism it appears to function properly and fall forward as designed. 
Any suggestions or adjustments I need to make would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Rob
Back to top Go down
JLBSparks

Number of posts : 187
Registration date : 2015-03-04

PostSubject: Re: CVA Hawkins Build. hammer problems   CVA Hawkins Build. hammer problems EmptyFebruary 13th 2019, 5:40 pm

Check your lock inletting.

-Joe
Back to top Go down
Renegadehunter

Renegadehunter

Male Number of posts : 90
Registration date : 2018-10-12

PostSubject: Re: CVA Hawkins Build. hammer problems   CVA Hawkins Build. hammer problems EmptyFebruary 14th 2019, 8:58 am

Yes, it must be binding on the wood somewhere.  Also make sure you're not tightening the lock down too much, that is a common mistake.  I take mine to just getting snug and then back it off a half turn.
Back to top Go down
FrontierGander
Site
Site
FrontierGander

Male Number of posts : 16313
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: CVA Hawkins Build. hammer problems   CVA Hawkins Build. hammer problems EmptyFebruary 19th 2019, 3:16 pm