Frontier Muzzleloading
Welcome to Frontier Muzzleloading!

Please take the time to either Register or Log In to your user name and join us!


MUZZLELOADING FORUM
 
HomeGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in




Ads


Share | 
 

 Black MZ Review

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3
AuthorMessage
falcon

avatar

Male Number of posts : 1435
Age : 79
Location : Southwest, Oklahoma
Registration date : 2012-05-28

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   August 28th 2013, 8:05 pm

"I am about to put a new scope on that CVA and get her ready again, that gun shoots Schuetzen Black Powder 3 Fg like a house on fire"

i pillar bedded and glass bedded the action of that gun.  It's about the most accurate muzzleloader i've ever seen.   That gun made some some dyed in the wool Knight and Encore guys sick at the range.


Last edited by falcon on August 28th 2013, 8:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
OldMtnMan

avatar

Male Number of posts : 10158
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   August 28th 2013, 8:07 pm

No surprise there. If you're not the type to be bothered by the mess. Real black powder is very accurate and consistent.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
donjose

avatar

Male Number of posts : 78
Age : 45
Location : Oklahoma
Registration date : 2011-01-09

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   August 28th 2013, 8:16 pm

Muley wrote:
No surprise there. If you're not the type to be bothered by the mess. Real black powder is very accurate and consistent.
I been thinking about just going to Real Black in everything I own including the inlines and I dont mind cleaning the gun thats part of the fun.....
Back to top Go down
View user profile
OldMtnMan

avatar

Male Number of posts : 10158
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   August 28th 2013, 8:29 pm

Nothing wrong with that, but I have a soft spot for BP.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Cannonball



Number of posts : 36
Age : 76
Location : Utah
Registration date : 2013-08-23

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   August 29th 2013, 9:35 am

I have a friend who lives at the target range with a ML and he claims that day in and day out BP is more accurate, especially in temperature changes than any of the substitute powders.  He constantly shoots 1" groups.   Myself a 2"+ is great at 100 yards.  That's putting a log on the bench to put the gun over with open sights, looking through 71 year old eyes, but darn I'm just getting tired of cleaning the gun after every shot.Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15450
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   August 29th 2013, 9:44 am

Have you ever tried moose milk? It works great as a patch lube if that's what you are using.

I to hate swabbing and once i found MM, that took care of it for good. May shoot my 58 later on today.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5314
Age : 52
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   August 29th 2013, 9:58 am

I love black powder myself , we had a sub here at one stage but I think I only used about 3 lbs of it in 8 years and I go through 4 lbs of powder a month .
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Clyde



Number of posts : 372
Age : 64
Location : Delaware
Registration date : 2011-11-27

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   August 29th 2013, 2:05 pm

Carlos,

I have good performance from the MZ if its weighed.  3 of my 3 shot groups were right about 1 inch and 2 of the shots in the last group were about 1.5 inches I yanked one shot in that group and knew I'd done it when it went plus the mirage of that toasty barrel didn't help either.

I agree its what ever your rifle like best. I don't have a problem using this powder and it appears to be cleaner than 777 and I have not ever had a crud ring with the MZ that we've all had with the 777.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
OldMtnMan

avatar

Male Number of posts : 10158
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   September 3rd 2013, 1:15 pm

I seem to remember it had a softer recoil compared to BH and T7. Are you finding that too?

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Clyde



Number of posts : 372
Age : 64
Location : Delaware
Registration date : 2011-11-27

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   September 3rd 2013, 1:47 pm

No not really but I rarely go over 90 grains.  I get good groups when I do my part and the extra powder only creates extra fouling.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
OldMtnMan

avatar

Male Number of posts : 10158
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   September 5th 2013, 9:41 pm

I just ran across this test if you haven't seen it.

http://www.chuckhawks.com/blackMZ.htm

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15450
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   September 5th 2013, 10:17 pm

good to see my velocity tests were close.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
falcon

avatar

Male Number of posts : 1435
Age : 79
Location : Southwest, Oklahoma
Registration date : 2012-05-28

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   September 11th 2013, 5:48 pm

Quote :
good to see my velocity tests were close.
All the tests i've seen done on Black MZ, including those Sam and i made, give about the same velocity when bullets of the same weight are used.  The difference comes in the extreme spread and standard deviation.   Compaction of the powder is very important when using any APP granular powder.   Variation in compaction will give variation in velocity.  

There is another problem with Black MZ.  

Today i sifted a 2/3 full can of Black MZ with my wife's rice flour sifter.  Black MZ contains the same fine stuff that 3F Pinnacle does, just not as much.   The quantity of fine stuff must vary from can to can.  The amount of fine stuff present in each can causes differences in the extreme spread and standard deviation during tests.  

Gotta test this sifted powder.

The fines: 

Back to top Go down
View user profile
OldMtnMan

avatar

Male Number of posts : 10158
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   September 11th 2013, 5:52 pm

That's a lot!

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5314
Age : 52
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   September 13th 2013, 1:03 am

That fine stuff should work well as pan powder.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
donjose

avatar

Male Number of posts : 78
Age : 45
Location : Oklahoma
Registration date : 2011-01-09

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   September 14th 2013, 6:46 pm

@falcon wrote:
Quote :
good to see my velocity tests were close.
All the tests i've seen done on Black MZ, including those Sam and i made, give about the same velocity when bullets of the same weight are used.  The difference comes in the extreme spread and standard deviation.   Compaction of the powder is very important when using any APP granular powder.   Variation in compaction will give variation in velocity.  

There is another problem with Black MZ.  

Today i sifted a 2/3 full can of Black MZ with my wife's rice flour sifter.  Black MZ contains the same fine stuff that 3F Pinnacle does, just not as much.   The quantity of fine stuff must vary from can to can.  The amount of fine stuff present in each can causes differences in the extreme spread and standard deviation during tests.  

Gotta test this sifted powder.

The fines: 

You better be looking over your shoulder sooner or later that little Korean Lady is going to catch you using her cooking items Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15450
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   September 14th 2013, 7:25 pm

wow thats a hell of a job sifting that powder! Where did you get the screen material for doing this? I still want to make my own BP once i gather the items to build the press.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
falcon

avatar

Male Number of posts : 1435
Age : 79
Location : Southwest, Oklahoma
Registration date : 2012-05-28

PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   September 14th 2013, 7:42 pm

Where did you get the screen material for doing this?
It belongs to my wife.  It's a rice flour sifter.  The holes are really small.  

Looks like this:

http://www.webstaurantstore.com/10-stainless-steel-rim-sieve/407SIV10.html?utm_source=NexTag&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=NexTag+Campaign
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Black MZ Review   

Back to top Go down
 
Black MZ Review
Back to top 
Page 3 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Frontier Muzzleloading :: Muzzleloading Topic :: Powder Room-
Jump to: