Frontier Muzzleloading
Welcome to Frontier Muzzleloading!

Please take the time to either Register or Log In to your user name and join us!


MUZZLELOADING FORUM
 
HomeGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Ads


Share | 
 

 Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
Marty
Site Moderator &
Site Moderator &
avatar

Male Number of posts : 3432
Age : 62
Location : Massachusetts
Registration date : 2009-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   September 21st 2013, 9:13 am

Nice report FG.   The light weight of the rifle is always a recoil trade-off.  I like the camo color scheme and the rifle's long barrel!   

The scope does though seem to be set a bit high for me off the barrel.  I'm guessing scratch the higher scope height is necessary to operate the hammer-less mechanism  Question
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ram2



Number of posts : 26
Age : 58
Location : Michigan
Registration date : 2012-08-07

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   September 21st 2013, 3:50 pm

@Marty wrote:

The scope does though seem to be set a bit high for me off the barrel.  I'm guessing scratch the higher scope height is necessary to operate the hammer-less mechanism  Question

That seems contrary to Traditions' own PR about the Strikerfire which states the hammerless design allows closer mounting of the scope to the barrel.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
falcon

avatar

Male Number of posts : 1457
Age : 79
Location : Southwest, Oklahoma
Registration date : 2012-05-28

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   September 21st 2013, 4:06 pm

Good report on a good rifle.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15584
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   September 21st 2013, 4:18 pm

That scope can come down a lot more, It fits me fine to where I do not have to squish my face down or move my head around to find the scope. One of those where I can actually close my eyes, shoulder the rifle and I am very close to being focused in the scope.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
Marty
Site Moderator &
Site Moderator &
avatar

Male Number of posts : 3432
Age : 62
Location : Massachusetts
Registration date : 2009-02-03

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   September 22nd 2013, 10:39 am

FG, it sounds like a good rifle fit for your physique.  
------------------------------------------------------

p.s.  Good to know you can go with lower scope base mounts if you want.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5314
Age : 52
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   September 22nd 2013, 11:34 am

Yes it's kind of a PITA to strain one's neck to focus in the scope, and it makes for crappy shooting too.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15584
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   September 22nd 2013, 11:58 am

remember im 6'3 with a long neck guys LOL, this gun actually fits me like a glove with this set up. I like not having to shift my head around to find the scope and its Not a cheek slapper.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
OldMtnMan



Male Number of posts : 10165
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   September 23rd 2013, 9:44 am

That doesn't really matter Jon. The length of your neck would determine how the stock fits you. The comb to the heel of the stock.

We're talking about the comb to the scope. That's the distance from your eye to your cheek. Most of us are close for that dimension. You get away with high scope mounts, because you like more of a chin weld instead of a firm cheek weld.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15584
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   September 27th 2013, 11:56 am

video added to page 1 as well as an update on how "heavy" the trigger is!
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
ram2



Number of posts : 26
Age : 58
Location : Michigan
Registration date : 2012-08-07

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   October 28th 2013, 7:43 pm

Field & Stream has a short review of the Stikerfire.  The trigger needs improvement.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15584
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 1:03 pm

Just an update/upgrade on the Strikerfire. I ordered the Traditions combo base and ring set from Carlos and got them in today. This Medium ring set up dropped the scope down greatly and the one piece base made for a sturdier platform and looks a lot better as well.

Before,


After, Note how much room there is for access to the Strikerfire button.


Just enough room for a lens cover to slip into place.


Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
OldMtnMan



Male Number of posts : 10165
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 2:01 pm

Much better.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
patocazador

avatar

Number of posts : 5863
Age : 75
Location : central Florida
Registration date : 2012-08-22

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 4:50 pm

If I remember correctly, Muley inquired whether that high mount was too high when you first got the gun, Jon. You answered something about your neck being long.

Did it shrink??   Razz

_________________
Bob

"My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government." -Thomas Jefferson
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15584
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 5:46 pm

lol no i mainly did it for you guys to see and report back on. I do get a better cheek weld though so that benefits me as well.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
OldMtnMan



Male Number of posts : 10165
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 5:56 pm

He hates to admit i'm right Pat.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."


Last edited by Muley on February 24th 2014, 6:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15584
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 6:07 pm

i do love the one piece base though, that looks so much cleaner.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
OldMtnMan



Male Number of posts : 10165
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 6:14 pm

DNZ doesn't make one to fit?

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15584
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 6:19 pm

Im not sure but for $27 shipped, its damn hard to beat, plus these are super light weight.

On a side note, Traditions uses short screws on this rifle. Im used to the long screws that cva uses. On this gun, I had a hell of a time getting the factory installed screws out, they did one hell of a job keeping them locked down! I think because they are short and stubby, you can get more torque onto them and really lock them into place. When the first one broke loose, I closed my eyes and gritted my teeth because it felt/ sounded like it had broke. Huuuge sigh once I noticed it was just short stubby screws. 2 thumbs up for the Tech that originally installed the scope/mounts.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
OldMtnMan



Male Number of posts : 10165
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 6:34 pm

I failed at getting the screws out of the rear sight on the Renegade. Real thin slotted screws that must be loctited in.

I'll let the gunsmith mess with it when he does the Limbsaver.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15584
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 6:44 pm

Pete on that rifle, I had the same trouble and had to use a slap hammer to get the screw removed. I think they loc tite them or maybe rust over the years lol.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
OldMtnMan



Male Number of posts : 10165
Age : 75
Location : Buena Vista, Colorado
Registration date : 2010-09-23

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   February 24th 2014, 6:51 pm

The biggest problem is the tiny slot they use for the screws. Hard to get a bite on them. The gunsmith will have the proper screwdriver, and probably use heat to loosen the loctite. If that fails he can drill them out.

_________________
Pete

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
idahoan



Number of posts : 4
Age : 32
Location : Idaho
Registration date : 2014-05-14

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   May 14th 2014, 3:03 pm

Wish I was as happy with my strikerfire. Didn't fire when I pulled the trigger the first time and then again the second. Third time it fired. I have fired it 6 times and it has just gone "click" a good 20 times. Was told by a local sports store that there is a manufacturing flaw in the nipple in many of the NW edition strikerfires and that due to all the complaints they will no longer carry them. Traditions sent me a new nipple and I still had the same problem. Called them back and they said they will send me a new spring, which 3 weeks later hasn't yet to arrive. Will never purchase another Traditions muzzleloader. Best way to come across a trophy bull or buck is to hunt with something that won't shoot.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum
avatar

Male Number of posts : 15584
Age : 34
Location : Boncarbo,Colorado
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   May 14th 2014, 4:31 pm

I havent played with the NW strikerfire yet. Im scared of all the mess inside the action.

Did you use the RWS musket caps?
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.frontiermuzzleloading.com
idahoan



Number of posts : 4
Age : 32
Location : Idaho
Registration date : 2014-05-14

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   May 16th 2014, 12:09 pm

Yes I did. The guy at Black Sheep (the store I took it to to have the rifle looked at) took the 2 that they had and put caps in them and had the same exact problem. One fired the second time he pulled the trigger the other took 4 tries. These things are just pure junk. When I got the replacement nipple and was putting caps in to see if the problem was solved I realized that the ONLY time it would fire for sure is if I jerked the trigger back, good luck hitting anything doing that. Never been so disappointed with a firearm.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Spitfire



Number of posts : 5314
Age : 52
Location : South Africa
Registration date : 2011-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   May 16th 2014, 12:22 pm

Can be that the firing mechanism needs to be lubed , something might be hanging up when you pull the trigger or the firing pin spring can be weak.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW   

Back to top Go down
 
Traditions Strikerfire REVIEW
Back to top 
Page 2 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Frontier Muzzleloading :: Muzzleloading Topic :: Frontier's Review Room-
Jump to: