Frontier Muzzleloading
Welcome to Frontier Muzzleloading!

Please take the time to either Register or Log In to your user name and join us!

Muzzleloading Forum

HomeFAQRegisterLog in

Need some help. TC Hawken

Go down 
AuthorMessage
flteng

Number of posts : 16
Registration date : 2013-10-14

Need some help. TC Hawken  Empty
PostSubject: Need some help. TC Hawken    Need some help. TC Hawken  EmptyNovember 11th 2013, 8:01 am

A number of years ago I bought a .54 TC Hawken and being a newbie I didn't inspect the barrel. I was pitted but shot very well both conical and PRB. I shoot 80 gr of fffg with TC Maxi balls, great plains hunters and PRB. At 50 yds they all hit about the same the same spot. Every year this gun is spot on. This year long story short it will not shoot PRB to save itself. It will do fine with conical's. PRB all over the paper and I'm using all the same components. I noticed when running the conicals down I feel a roughness in the barrel and some resistance. When I clean the barrel it takes forever to get it clean and even after applying a good CLP I still get dirt and some rust on a dry patch. I figured the barrel has finally had it. Any suggestions on conditioning it? I was thinking about just dropping a green mountain barrel in it. This gun has ALWAYS been dead nuts on the money. Yesterday I disassemble the locks cleaned and lubed, scrubbed the heck out of the bore and started from ground zero. No improvement today. Also I recovered some patches and discovered they are getting torn up. Any input would be welcome.
Back to top Go down
MLN1963

Male Number of posts : 583
Registration date : 2012-03-20

PostSubject: Re: Need some help. TC Hawken    Need some help. TC Hawken  EmptyNovember 11th 2013, 8:40 am

Do you have any Kroil or PB Blaster penetrating oil? Soak that sucker down good, better yet fill it up and let it sit for a couple days and then get back after it. See if that won't loosen up whatever is catching on your patches.