Frontier Muzzleloading
Welcome to Frontier Muzzleloading!

Please take the time to either Register or Log In to your user name and join us!

MUZZLELOADING FORUM

HomeGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Ads

Share | 

Blackhorn 209 problems

Go down 
AuthorMessage
buckhunter1

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2014-09-01

PostSubject: Blackhorn 209 problems   September 1st 2014, 5:53 pm

Gun info,
CVA Accura MR Nitride,
Nikon Inline XR scope
Blackhorn 209 breech plug, 
Federal 209A primers
100 & 110 gr loads 209 blackhorn powder
250gr TC Shockwave sabot
245gr Powerbelt Aerotip
250gr Barnes TMZ
     I got to take my new rifle out for the first time today and was hoping for some good results with Blackhorn Powder since I've never used it before. I tried both powder charges with all three bullets and groups are all over the place from 5 to 10 inches. Scope is brand new and lock tited down. The gun is also locking up and hard to break open after the shot. I'm used to shooting Triple Seven Pellets and Shockwaves and have had good results in my old TC Encore. Any suggestions?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FrontierGander
Forum
Forum

Male Number of posts : 15626
Registration date : 2008-05-19

PostSubject: Re: Blackhorn 209 problems   September 1st 2014, 6:17 pm

Hello Buckhunter, Welcome to the forum!

The action being hard to open after being shot is one thing I found out with an MR I had. CVA updated the firing pin bushing to use a larger screw driver slot for removal. When the rifle goes off, it pretty much launches the primer back into the firing pin and the primer gets stuck in that larger slot. Try this next time at the range and you experience this: Pull trigger back and at the same time, push forward on the hammer with your thumb. You should feel a slight Click. That's the primer being popped out of the firing pin bushing slot.

As for your accuracy issues, that's always a tough one because we can not see whats going on.