View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Kentucky Colonel
FML's
FML's

Male Number of posts : 1528
Registration date : 2015-10-28

PostSubject: A New Patient   November 5th 2015, 8:56 pm

Skip this if you have no interest in a gunsamerica acquired Traditions .50 cal. Kentucky Long. 

This was my first dip into the virtual black powder rifle buying world. Er... Actually, 
this is my first time buying ANY firearm in the digital realm. (I do have two Hatfields 
on the way, too. When I finally go, I go!) I prefer to buy after laying hands on the 
weapon. 

This is also the first flintlock I have ever owned. So, I am open to any and all comments- 
especially if you think everybody knows it. I may not. This post is not to tell anybody else 
how to do things! I am taking you through my efforts. Maybe you will remember how it was 
when you were beginning? Maybe my fumbling will keep you amused? 

I paid 225 for the rifle based on pics I found inconclusive. The description and follow up 
with a friendly seller answered some questions and revealed nothing of concern. While I 
did not completely trust this, I considered the deal a doable risk and a chance to learn 
without too much exposure. Plus, if it worked out, I would have a decent 'loaner' rifle to 
use when I wanted to introduce a new friend to black powder.

Here is The Flop! Original gunsamerica photo of the Traditions .50 Cal. Ky Long Rifle:

Now, this is what I got. Here comes The River:

Looks good! Call, or fold? Show your hand! 

So, serious cosmetic problems on one side. The wood looks very good for this kind of buy. But, the seller was definitely not big into full disclosure! I am about to drop a patch down the bore... drum roll, anybody?