HomeFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 

Bullet questions for new CVA Optima V2

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
cjc77z4

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2015-12-27

PostSubject: Bullet questions for new CVA Optima V2   December 27th 2015, 12:12 am

Hi everyone...I am new to muzzleloading and have found that this his a whole different animal to anything that I have done. I have been reading on here for a while....trying to narrow down what I want to shoot out of my Optima. I really wanted to try Barnes TEZ due to their raving reviews. So here's where I am at.

Went to Scheels today and picked up some white hots and some Hornady SST Low Drag 250 grain. I wanted the Barnes tez also but they only had the expander mz 250 and 300. I have read that people can't get these down the barrel of the Optima V2 l.....that's why i wanted the TEZ.

Well I get to looking and they had Remington Premeir Accutip sabots in stock. I get to reading and it's basically a Barnes TEZ 250 with a green sabot that is made to shoot out of the Remington Ultimate Muzzleloader ONLY.

My question is...can I shoot these out of the Optima V2 as is? second....I have thought about putting the Barnes TEZ in to the red sabot that came with the Hornady SST 250's. I have read that people have had success with that. Lastly.....what other sabots should I look at to pair with the Barnes TEZ 250?

Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GregK

Male Number of posts : 3053
Registration date : 2012-01-22

PostSubject: Re: Bullet questions for new CVA Optima V2   December 27th 2015, 6:22 am

Welcome to the forum & to a great & very enjoyable sport.

Here is what I would suggest for you:
Call Carlos at Ed's Gun Shop 910-692-7936 & order you supplies from him. You won't find a better person to deal with or better prices.
I would switch from the White Hots to BH209, inc ordering the Western Powders BH209 breech plug from Carlos